AODA Accessibility Standards - Town of Ajax

Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 - Accessibility Standards

The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA) is provincial legislation enacted to achieve accessibility throughout Ontario by the year 2025. This legislation requires all private, public, voluntary and not-for-profit organizations comply with Accessibility Standards in 5 key areas:

  • Customer Service
  • Information & Communication
  • Transportation
  • Employment
  • Built Environment

Town of Ajax is required to create policies and procedures that reflect the core principles of the AODA: integration, independence, equal opportunity and dignity.  

Accessible Customer Service

Accessibility Standards for Customer Service, came into effect on January 1, 2008. As of January 1, 2010 the Town of Ajax has developed the Town of Ajax Accessible Customer Service Policy  [updated June 2016] which provides information in the following areas:

  • Notice for Disruption of Service
  • Service Animals
  • Support Persons
  • Assistive Devices
  • Employee Training (AODA, Town policies, etc.)
  • Accessible Customer Service Feedback 

Integrated Accessibility Regulation

On June 3, 2011 the Province of Ontario enacted the Integrated Accessibility Regulation. This legislation establishes accessibility standards and requirements in the areas of Information & Communications, Employment and Transportation.

The fifth and final accessibility standard, the Built Environment Standard, is still under development.

 In the meantime, the Town encourages compliance with its 2007 Facitily Accessibilty Design Guidelines for all newly constructed and/or renovated Town fo Ajax-owned, leased or operated faciltiies. 

Additional information about the AODA Accessibility Standards is available through the Ministry of Economic, Trade and Employment AccessON website.